Sleigh Bells Satisfies Our Hunger With “Treats”

The hype surrounding the debut release from Brooklyn-based noise-pop duo Sleigh Bells has slowly grown to a dull roar, but the thunderous bass claps and fuzzy reverb of Treats will blow out your eardrums and leave you with a dumb grin on your face.

Treats is a riotous and raucous 32 minute sprint that succeeds in-part because of its “take no prisoners” attitude.  Sleigh Bells’ sound is a polarizing assault on the senses, and if you don’t like it, get out of the way before this monstrous sound runs you down.  Alexis Krauss’ syrupy sweet sing-song vocals lighten Derek E. Miller’s ragged and heavy beats – and it just works.  The melodic meets the gritty to form one cohesive voice.

Forget listening, you have to feel this album in your body.  Bounce your head, wave your hands, and feel the bass reverberate in your chest.  The album is visceral and raw, so leave your critical ear at the door.  Sleigh Bells is hosting the summer’s wildest house party – and you’re invited.

Sleigh Bells’ debut album Treats is out now through M.I.A’s N.E.E.T Recordings in partnership with Mom + Pop Records.  You can preview the entire album at here, and purchase the album from iTunes here.

Timbre Tantrum’s Album Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars


  1. Tell ‘Em
  2. Kids
  3. Riot Rhythm
  4. Infinity Guitars
  5. Run the Heart
  6. Rachel
  7. Rill Rill
  8. Crown on the Ground
  9. Straight A’s
  10. A/B Machines
  11. Treats

Bookmark and Share

About The Author


Other posts byEditor

Author his web site


05 2010

Your Comment